What is a Share Link? How do I disable/enable it?

What are Share Links?

Share Links are URLs of your files or folders.  

Setting Share Links to Public

When share links are enabled, your resource is set to public.  In this state, you can distribute your share link in emails, social media platforms, on your website, etc... and anyone who sees the link can access your resource.  

Setting Share Links to Private

When share links are disabled, your resource is set to private.  At this point your resource can only be viewed by logging in with your user name and password.  Additionally, you can grant access to your private files and folders to specific users or by creating a 1-Time Download link.  To learn more about these sharing options, click here.

Accessing the Global Share Link Settings

 You can disable and enable Share Links globally on your account.  To enable and disable global share link settings, follow these steps (Note: Turning this on or off will not change the state of existing files. This setting only determines the state of newly added files/folders to the account):

  1. Open the MediaFire Web Interface by logging on to www.mediafire.com.

  2. From the App Bar, click on the down arrow next to your user name and avatar.



  3. Select Account settings.


  4. The Account Settings screen will be displayed.  In the Account Details section, select Security and Privacy.



  5. The Security and Privacy screen will appear.  Click on Share Link.  You will be taken to a new screen where you can enable and disable global share links.  Turning share link on or off will not change the state of existing files. The global setting only determines the state of newly added files/folders to the account. 

  6. You can toggle the switch to either ON (enabling the global share link setting) or OFF (which will disable the global share link setting).  Additionally, you can choose whether or not to Inherit share link status from the parent folder.  Regardless of the global share link setting, you can always choose a specific share setting for each of your resources on a resource level. To understand how sharing works on a resource level view the knowledgebase article “How do Sharing Permissions work”. 


How do I know if my resource has share links enabled?

When a resource in your account has Share Link enabled, and is therefor set to public,  there will be a chain link icon visible next to your resource name.

Note:  When you share public resources (resources who have share links enabled and are therefore not private), a user can retrieve your resource’s share link and then share it with others. This is achieved by copying the web address in the navigation bar upon viewing your shared resource.  Your contact can then go and paste the resource’s URL for public view (such as in a web forum, Facebook newsfeed, email, etc.) or send it to specific contacts.   If you do not want your resource to be shared, ensure share links is disabled. This will set your resource to private.  When your resource is private you resources can only be accessed with your user name and password.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.